Get Involved

All members have an opportunity to be active participants in our chapter! Below is a list of committees with a brief description of the responsibilities, as well as the board member who oversees that committee. As your schedule allows, please consider how you can bring your area of expertise and past talents to aid your chapter.

You can contact the respective board member directly with questions or to join the committee. We’ve tried to make it easy for everyone to participate!


Commmunications and Media

Board Member: Communications Director,  Christina Dickinson, ASID, communications@azn.asid.org

Desert Design Magazine
The Desert Design Magazine (DDM) is a three time a year print publication. The magazine reaches approximately 800 practitioner members and industry partners by mail and available to the public in a digital version.

Chair: Paige Lewis, Allied ASID, paige.lewis.designs@gmail.com 

Assistant Editor: Cindy Lewton, ASID, cindylewtonasid@gmail.com
 

Social Media
Chair: Susan Solliday, ASID, susan@susansolliday.com

Graphics
Chair: Eileen Burick, Industry Partner Rep, eileen@burick.com

Website
Chair: OPEN


Programs, Events, and Membership

Board Member: Membership Director, Christine Rhodes, Industry Partner Rep, membership@azn.asid.org

Ambassadors
Chair: Laurie Clark, Industry Partner Rep, laurie.clark@sherwin.com

Membership, Recruitment and Retention
Chair:   Membership Director, Christine Rhodes, Industry Partner Rep, membership@azn.asid.org

Membership, Mentoring Program
Chair: OPEN

Design Excellence Awards Gala
Board Member: President: Jennifer Biffer, ASID, president@azn.asid.org

Design Awards Gala

Chair: OPEN

Annual Awards Gala honoring chapter leaders, sponsors, and special community awards


Finance

Board Member: Finance Director: Wanda Frederick, ASID, finance@azn.asid.org

Design for Hire
Chair: OPEN for 2023


Professional Development

Board Member: Professional Development Director: Teri Smithers, ASID, professionaldevelopment@azn.asid.org

Emerging Professionals
Chair: OPEN

Student Affairs
Chair: Esther Gonzalez, ASID, esther@italiandconcepts.com & Wanda Frederick, ASID, wanda3133@aol.com

Professional Development Day
Chair:  DEFERRED CURRENTLY


Industry Partner Liason

Board Member: At Large Director, Leann Fernald, Industry Partner Rep, at-large@azn.asid.org 

Donuts & Dialogue
Chair: Janet Jackson, Allied ASID, jjackson7508@gmail.com


Community Service

Board Member: President, Jennifer Biffer, ASID, president@azn.asid.org


Services

Chapter Historian
Chair: Past President; Paddy Rasmussen, Allied ASID, paddyras@gmail.com 


Legislative Liaison

Board Member: Aileen Fabella, ASID & IIDA, aileen@dsgndistillery.com

Government Affairs

Chair: Aileen Fabella, ASID & IIDA, aileen@dsgndistillery.com

Duties: Works closely with the International Interior Design Association of Arizona (IIDA) and its efforts to pursue future legislation that advocates for our profession. Keeps our Board and members aware of the latest occurrences within the legislative community.  Attends IIDA board meetings, events, and promotions. Attends ASID National Legislative Symposium and reports back to Board; writes quarterly articles (at minimum) for Desert Design Magazine.


Sponsorship and Fundraising

Board Members: President, Jennifer Biffer, ASID, president@azn.asid.org and President-Elect, Kelly Dunlop, Allied ASID, president-elect@azn.asid.org

Sponsor Marketing Representative
Rick Emrich, aznmarketing@aol.com

Duties: Encourages individuals/firms/vendors to assist funding Chapter activities, primarily relating to the Chapter’s annual Design Excellence Awards Event. Uses the Chapter’s sponsorship forms, distributes sponsorship opportunities to membership, and follows-up regularly via telephone, email, and personal visits.

Get Involved Nationally

ASID relies on the commitment and dedication of its member volunteers to keep the Society's programs vital to and inform future projects. The following is a current listing of the Society's committees, councils and task forces. For information on leadership opportunities, email chapters@asid.org.

List of Committees, Councils & Task Forces

Chapter Support Team

Emerging Professionals Advisory Council

Ethics Committee

Legislative and Codes Advisory Council

National Examiners Committee

Student Advisory Council