Get Involved

All members have an opportunity to be active participants in our chapter! Below is a list of committees with a brief description of the responsibilities, as well as the board member who oversees that committee. As your schedule allows, please consider how you can bring your area of expertise and past talents to aid your chapter.

You can contact the respective board member directly with questions or to join the committee. We’ve tried to make it easy for everyone to participate!


Commmunications and Media

Board Member: Communications Director,  Jasmine Dowling, Allied ASID, communications@azn.asid.org

Desert Design Magazine
The Desert Design Magazine (DDM) is a quarterly print publication. The magazine reaches approximately 800 practitioner members and industry partners by mail and available to the public in a digital version.

Chair/Editor: Nancy Nease, Industry Partner Rep, nancyleenease@yahoo.com
Assistant Editor: Karen Barnes, Industry Partner Rep, karen@elegantwindow.com
Editorial Staff: Dede Radford, Industry Partner Representative for Dunn-Edwards Paints; Diane Wood, Allied ASID; Susan Solliday, Allied ASID; and Chris West, Student ASID

Social Media
Chair: Susan Solliday, Allied ASID, ssdesigns@cox.net

Website
Chair: Open


Programs, Events, and Membership

Board Member: Membership Director, Erin Linstrom, Allied ASID, membership@azn.asid.org
Programs: Chair, Adrianna Hunter, Student ASID, hunter.adrianna@yahoo.com

Ambassadors
Chair: Brenda Emrich, Industry Partner Rep, bgirl811@aol.com

Membership, Recruitment and Retention
Chair: OPEN

Membership, Mentoring Program
Chair: OPEN

Design Excellence Awards Gala
Board Member: President: Janet Jackson, Allied ASID, president@azn.asid.org
Chair: OPEN


Finance

Board Member: Finance Director: Amy Strang, Allied ASID, finance@azn.asid.org

Design for Hire
Chair: Amy Strang, Allied ASID, finance@azn.asid.org


Professional Development

Board Member: Professional Development Director: Rachel Simmons, ASID, professionaldevelopment@azn.asid.org

Professional Development Day
Chair: OPEN

Programs, Business Tech
Chair: OPEN

Emerging Professionals
Chair: Paddy Rasmussen, Allied ASID, patriciarasmussen@gmail.com

Student Affairs
Chair: Maria Cooper, Student ASID, mariahappy123@hotmail.com


Industry Partner Liason

Board Member: Director at Large, Brian Gallop, Industry Partner Representative for Ferguson, at-large@azn.asid.org 

Donuts & Dialogue
Co-Chair: Denise Belancik, Industry Partner Rep for Cosentino, deniseb@cosentinogroup.net

Co-Chair:  OPEN


Community Service

Board Member: President, Janet Jackson, Allied ASID, president@azn.asid.org

Aunt Rita’s Foundation
Chair: Brian Gallop, Industry Partner  Representative for Ferguson, brian.gallop@ferguson.com


Services

Chapter Historian
Chair: Keith Stanton, ASID, keith@keithstanton.com


Legislative Liaison

Board Member: President-Elect: Tabitha Evans, Allied ASID, president-elect@azn.asid.org

Government Affairs
Debra May Himes, ASID, IIDA, LEED AP, Debra.Himes@DMHDESIGN.COM

Duties: Works closely with the Interior Design Coalition of Arizona (IDCA) and its efforts to pursue future legislation that advocates for our profession. Keeps our Board and members aware of the latest occurrences within the legislative community.  Attends IDCA board meetings, events, and promotions. Attends ASID National Legislative Symposium and reports back to Board; writes quarterly articles (at minimum) for Desert Design Magazine.


Sponsorship and Fundraising

Board Members: President, Janet Jackson, Allied ASID, president@azn.asid.org and President-Elect, Tabitha Evans, Allied ASID, president-elect@azn.asid.org

Sponsor Marketing Representative
Rick Emrich, aznmarketing@aol.com

Duties: Encourages individuals/firms/vendors to assist funding Chapter activities, primarily relating to the Chapter’s annual Design Excellence Awards Event. Uses the Chapter’s sponsorship forms, distributes sponsorship opportunities to membership, and follows-up regularly via telephone, email, and personal visits.

Get Involved Nationally

ASID relies on the commitment and dedication of its member volunteers to keep the Society's programs vital to and inform future projects. The following is a current listing of the Society's committees, councils and task forces. For information on leadership opportunities, email chapters@asid.org.

List of Committees, Councils & Task Forces

Chapter Support Team

Emerging Professionals Advisory Council

Ethics Committee

Legislative and Codes Advisory Council

National Examiners Committee

Student Advisory Council